

# LOWER MINNESOTA RIVER WATERSHED DISTRICT

## **Executive Summary for Action**

Lower Minnesota River Watershed District Board of Managers Meeting Wednesday, May 15, 2024

#### Agenda Item

Item 4. B. - Recognition of Manager Laura Amundson's contributions to the LMRWD

#### **Prepared By**

Linda Loomis, Administrator

#### Summary

Manager Amundson did not seek reappointment to the Board of Managers when her term expired February 29, 2024. She agreed to continue on the Board until Hennepin County appointed a replacement. Hennepin County appointed a new manager, Vinatha Viswanathan, at its April 30, 2024, Board of Commissioners meeting.

Manager Amundson was appointed to the Lower Minnesota River Watershed District in July 2021. She was elected Treasurer in September 2021 and served in that capacity until her retirement. She has also represented the LMRWD on the Policy Committee for the Lower Minnesota River East One Watershed One Plan.

The District wishes to recognize Manager Amundson and her service to the District. The Board would like to present Manager Amundson with an award recognizing her service and Resolution 24-07 has been prepared recognizing Manager Amundson's contributions to the LMRWD.

#### Attachments

RESOLUTION 24-07 A RESOLUTION OF APPRECIATION FOR SERVICE AND CONTRIBUTION OF LAURA AMUNDSON TO THE LOWER MINNESOTA RIVER WATERSHED DISTRICT

#### **Recommended Action**

Motion to adopt Resolution 24-07

Manager \_\_\_\_\_\_ introduced the following resolution and moved its adoption. The question on the adoption of the Resolution was seconded by Manager \_\_\_\_\_\_.

### **RESOLUTION 24-07**

## LOWER MINNESOTA RIVER WATERSHED DISTRICT BOARD OF MANAGERS

## A RESOLUTION OF APPRECIATION FOR SERVICE AND CONTRIBUTION OF LAURA AMUNDSON TO THE LOWER MINNESOTA RIVER WATERSHED DISTRICT

WHEREAS, the Lower Minnesota River Watershed District (LMRWD) is a special purpose unit of government established in accordance with Minnesota State Statute 103D; and

WHEREAS, under said Statute, the District is charged with the responsibility for the management of storm water, protection of persons and property from flooding, protection and preservation of the water quality of lakes, streams, rivers and wetlands within the boundaries of the District and downstream receiving waters; in addition to the duties for which the District was created, of Local Sponsor for the IJS Army Corps of Engineers maintenance of the Nine Foot Navigation Channel; and

WHEREAS, Laura Amundson has served as a Manager, representing Hennepin County, on the Board of Managers for the LMRWD from July 20, 2021 to April 30, 2024, serving as Treasurer from November 2021 until her retirement from the Board; and

WHEREAS, Laura has freely and generously given her time and knowledge, expertise and talent to serve the public and protect the environment; and

WHEREAS, Laura has provided her professional expertise, leadership and guidance to the LMRWD with vision, integrity, an open mind and a conscientious dedication to the mission of the LMRWD; and

WHEREAS, Laura has provided leadership to the LMRWD, representing the LMRWD on the Lower Minnesota River East One Watershed One Plan Policy Committee and has demonstrated an overarching concern for the Minnesota River; and

WHEREAS, Laura has always treated the public, staff and fellow commissioners with respect and courtesy, and offered advice and counsel to the LMRWD with fairness, and common sense. Her personal knowledge and expertise as a professional engineer have been greatly appreciated.

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that the Lower Minnesota River Watershed District Board of Managers hereby expresses its sincere and grateful appreciation to Laura Amundson for her years of distinguished service to the Lower Minnesota River Watershed District and the public. Upon a vote being taken there were \_\_\_\_ yeas and \_\_\_\_\_ nays as follows:

	<u>Yea</u>	<u>Nay</u>	<u>Absent</u>	<u>Abstain</u>
BARISONZI				
KUPLIC				
LAMMERS				
SALVATO				

Adopted by the Board of Managers of the Lower Minnesota River Watershed District on this 15th day of May 2024.

Joseph Barisonzi, President

Attested:

Theresa Kuplic, Vice President